Got Trojan ‘Prunnet.exe’

I have got a trojan called ‘prunnet.exe’ which is why I have not been so active today.

I was wondering if anyone out their could help. I have installed numorous Maleware cleaners and they have, after getting rid of the trojan, say my computer is clean.

Is it possible that the trojan is actually still their even though numorous Maleware removers say it isnt?

Thank you

-psp2468

6 Responses to “Got Trojan ‘Prunnet.exe’”

  1. SlinkyDFW Says:

    I have it too, but I’ve managed to get rid of most of it. You’ll have to get into the registry if you can and delete all references to ‘606a9e0b’ and ‘prunnet.exe’. I ran hijackthis to find it all.

    Your rights as an admin would have been changed by it also. I had to remove the startup of the 606 file through hijackthis before i could get into the registry.

    I’m still working on the admin rights portion. I’ll keep you posted.

  2. psp2468 Says:

    Thanks for the reply.
    I have used programs like Malwarebytes, Ad aware, SpyBot and McAfee and they all say I am clean.

    I am thinking I shall just reinstall windows. Though do you think I am safe because 4 Maleware programs say I am safe?

    -psp2468

  3. JimA Says:

    ComboFix kills it. You have to rename ComboFix sometimes, if you try to run it and it gives you nothing. Had to deal with it on one of my employee’s computers at the office, then the wife’s at home.

    I wish I could have lunch with the guy that wrote this. Some people just need killing.

  4. psp2468 Says:

    I know, it is a real pest.

    I reinstall Windows so I’m cured right now. If anyone has any solution, post them anyways for others please!

  5. john Says:

    to enable registry editing again, click start, then run, then type
    REG add HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System /v DisableRegistryTools /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f

  6. Nick Says:

    Had this one as well. Do like JimA says. Get Combofix saved to a flash drive via another computer, rename the install file, then move it to your infected comp and run it. It took some time to work, but it healed my system,. Afterwards I also ran HijackThis (renamed its install file as well) and deleted one or two more suspicious things, but that may not be a necessary step.


Leave a Reply

